KH.png

KH/ Alkalinity-Test

Alkalinity test for freshwater and saltwater aquaria

Meerwasser_weiß3.png

 

Measuring range & accuracy

Measurement range: 1 - 20 °dH

Accuracy: 0.5/1 °dH

 

About alkalinity

The carbonate hardness (KH) or alkalinity of a water sample characterises the buffering capacity, i.e. the ability to maintain the pH value of the water.

There are many terms in water chemistry to describe the buffering capacity with varying definitions. The term “carbonate hardness” is customary in fishkeeping; however, it is the alkalinity which is measured. In this test, both terms are used synonymously. The reading for alkalinity is usually given in degrees of German hardness (°dH). You can find a table for converting this unit into other common units in these instructions.

The alcalinity should be tested in all aquariums with great regularity. If the alkalinity in the aquarium is too low, the pH value can sink (sudden drop in acidity) to a level which is life-threatening for many fish and invertebrates. In reef aquariums, an adequate alkalinity level is essential for strong coral growth. On the other hand, an overly high alkalinity in saltwater tanks can lead to calcium carbonate precipitates and also have a negative impact on coral growth.

The alkalinity in saltwater aquariums should range from 6 to 9 °dH. The alkalinity in freshwater aquariums should not fall below 3 °dH. The optimum alkalinity level in freshwater aquariums depends on the species of fish and plants you are looking after. Ask your specialist retailer for the correct alkalinity level for your aquarium.

 

Package contents 

  • 25 ml / 0.85 fl.oz. of reagent KH

  • 1 glass cuvette 10 ml

  • 1 dosing syringe 5 ml

  • 1 instructions for use

28240-KH-Test_web.jpg

 

Instructions for use

  1. Shake the dropper bottle before use!

  2. Rinse out the glass cuvette with tap water and then several times with aquarium water.

  3. Fill the glass cuvette with exactly 5 ml of aquarium water using the dosing syringe.

  4. Now add the KH test reagent drop by drop (shake the cuvette after each drop), until the colour of the solution changes from TURQUOISE to PINK.

  5. The number of drops indicates the alkalinity of the solution in °dH, e.g. 8 drops = 8 °dH. To increase the accuracy of the measurement, a 10 ml water sample (instead of 5 ml) can be used. In that case, 1 drop corresponds to 0.5 °dH, i.e. 15 drops = 7.5 °dH.

  6. Rinse out the glass cuvette and the syringe thoroughly with tap water after the measurement process.

 

Shelf life and storage:

6 months after opening. Store in a cool, dark place.

Schedule of water hardness:

csm_Tabelle_KH-Test_c375aaf379.jpg

 

Measures in the event of unfavorable values

To increase the alkalinity when levels are too low, we recommend using Tropic Marin® Triple Buffer or Tropic Marin® Liquid Buffer for saltwater applications and Tropic Marin® Re-Mineral Tropic for freshwater applications.


If the alkalinity level is too high in your saltwater aquarium, we recommend using Tropic Marin® Original Balling A. Also ask your specialist pet retailer for advice regarding this.

Frequently asked questions

Answers to frequently asked questions about this product can be found in our FAQ section.

Container sizes

KH-Test                       Art. Nr. 28240                                                                Refill Pack                  Art. Nr. 28776

KH/ Alkalinity-Test

KH/Alkalinity-Test für Süß- und Meerwasseraquarien

 

Messbereich & Genauigkeit

Messbereich: 1 - 20 °dH

Auflösung (Genauigkeit): 0,5/1 °dH

 

Über die Karbonathärte

Die Karbonathärte (KH) bzw. Alkalinität einer Wasserprobe charakterisiert die Pufferfähigkeit, d.h. die Fähigkeit zur Aufrechterhaltung des pH-Wertes des Wassers.

In der Wasserchemie existieren mehrere Begriffe zur Beschreibung der Pufferfähigkeit mit unterschiedlichen Definitionen. In der Aquaristik ist der Begriff „Karbonathärte“ gebräuchlich; gemessen wird jedoch die Alkalinität. In diesem Test werden beide Begriffe gleichbedeutend verwendet. Die Angabe für die Karbonathärte erfolgt meist in Grad deutscher Härte (°dH). Eine Tabelle zur Umrechnung in andere gebräuchliche Einheiten finden Sie in der Gebrauchsanweisung.

Die Karbonathärte sollte in allen Aquarien mit großer Regelmäßigkeit überprüft werden. Ist die Alkalinität im Aquarium zu gering, kann es zu einem für viele Fische und Wirbellose lebensbedrohenden Absinken des pH-Wertes (Säuresturz) kommen. In Riffaquarien ist eine ausreichende Karbonathärte wesentlich für ein kräftiges Korallenwachstum. Auf der anderen Seite kann eine zu hohe Karbonathärte in Meerwasserbecken zu Kalkausfällungen führen und auch das Wachstum der Korallen negativ beeinflussen.

Im Meerwasseraquarium sollte die Karbonathärte zwischen 6 und 9 °dH liegen. In Süßwasseraquarien sollte die Karbonathärte nicht unter 3 °dH sinken. Der optimale Wert für die Alkalinität im Süßwasseraquarium hängt von den zu pflegenden Fisch- und Pflanzenarten ab. Fragen Sie Ihren Fachhändler nach der richtigen Karbonathärte für Ihr Aquarium.

 

Packungsinhalt

  • 25 ml Reagenz KH

  • 1 Glasküvette 10 ml

  • 1 Dosierspritze 5 ml

  • 1 Gebrauchsanleitung

28240-KH-Test_web.jpg

 

Gebrauchsanweisung

  1. Die Tropfflasche vor Gebrauch schütteln!

  2. Die Glasküvette mit Leitungswasser und anschließend mehrmals mit Aquarienwasser ausspülen.

  3. Mithilfe der Dosierspritze genau 5 ml Aquarienwasser in die Glasküvettefüllen.

  4. Nun tropfenweise KH-Testreagenz zugeben (nach jedem Tropfen die Küvette schütteln), bis die Farbe der Lösung von TÜRKISBLAU nach PINK umschlägt

  5. Die Anzahl der Tropfen gibt die Karbonathärte der Lösung in °dH an, also z.B. 8 Tropfen = 8 °dH. Um die Genauigkeit der Messung zu erhöhen, können 10 ml Wasserprobe (statt 5 ml) verwendet werden. In diesem Fall entspricht 1 Tropfen = 0,5 °dH, also z.B. 15 Tropfen = 7,5 °dH.

  6. Nach dem Messvorgang Glasküvette und Spritze gründlich mit Leitungswasser ausspülen. 

 

   6 Monate nach Anbruch haltbar. Dunkel und kühl lagern.

   Übersicht über unterschiedliche Wasserhärte-Einheiten:

csm_Tabelle_KH-Test_c375aaf379.jpg

 

Maßnahmen bei ungünstigen Werten

Zur Erhöhung der Karbonathärte bei zu niedrigen Werten empfehlen wir im Meerwasserbereich die Verwendung von Tropic Marin® Triple Buffer oder Tropic Marin® Liquid Buffer und im Süßwasserbereich Tropic Marin® Re-Mineral Tropic.

 

Bei zu hoher Karbonathärte im Meerwasseraquarium empfehlen wir die Anwendung von Tropic Marin® Original Balling A. Lassen Sie sich auch von Ihrem Zoofachhändler beraten.

Häufig gestellte Fragen

Antworten auf häufig gestellte Fragen zu diesem Produkt finden Sie in unserem FAQ-Bereich.

Gebindegrößen

KH-Test                                Art. Nr. 28240                                                      Nachfüllpackung                 Art. Nr. 28776