GH.png

GH-Test

Total Hardness Test for fresh water aquariums

Meerwasser_weiß3.png

 

Measuring range & accuracy

Measurement range: 1 - 20 °dH

Accuracy: 0.5/1 °dH

 

About total hardness

The total hardness (GH) constitutes the amount of dissolved magnesium and calcium salts in the water. If the volume of these salts is low, the water is referred to as soft water, if the volume is high, the water is referred to as hard water. The reading is usually given in degrees of German hardness (°dH), whereby 1 °dH equates to 10 mg per litre of dissolved calcium oxide. The concentration of these salts in the water affects the organic functions of the fish and plants. Therefore, it should be tested on a regular basis.

The optimum total hardness value depends on the species of fish. Many African (e.g. aphyosemion) and South-east Asian species (e.g. trichogaster) cope with hard water easily. On the other hand, South American tetra, for example, need soft water to feel comfortable. A hardness level of 3-10 °dH is favourable in a fresh water aquarium. Ask your specialist retailer for the correct water hardness level for your fish.

 

Package contents 

  • 20 ml/0.68 fl.oz. of reagent GH

  • 1 glass cuvette 10 ml

  • 1 dosing syringe 5 ml

  • 1 instruction for use

28230-GH-Test_web.jpg

 

Instructions for use

  1. Shake the dropper bottle before use!

  2. Rinse out the glass cuvette with tap water and then several times with aquarium water.

  3. Fill the glass cuvette with exactly 5 ml of aquarium water using the dosing syringe.

  4. Now add the GH test reagent drop by drop (shake the cuvette after every drop), until the colour of the solution changes from RED to GREEN (refer to the colour fields on the packaging while doing this).

  5. The number of drops indicates the total hardness of the solution in °dH, e.g. 8 drops = 8 °dH. To increase the accuracy of the measurement, a 10 ml water sample (instead of 5 ml) can be used. In that case, 1 drop corresponds to 0.5 °dH, i.e. 15 drops = 7.5 °dH.

  6. Rinse out the glass cuvette and the syringe thoroughly with tap water after the measurement process.

Shelf life and storage:

6 months after opening. Store in a cool, dark place.

Schedule of water hardness:

csm_Tabelle_GH-Test_0597747a3f.jpg

 

Measures in the event of unfavorable values

If the GH value is too high, we recommend exchanging a proportion of the water for soft water. Ask your specialist pet retailer for advice regarding this. If the water hardness level is too low, we recommend adding Tropic Marin® Pro-Discus Mineral to increase the hardness.

Frequently asked questions

Answers to frequently asked questions about this product can be found in our FAQ section.

Container sizes

GH-Test                            Art. Nr. 28230                                                   Refill Pack                       Art. Nr. 28774

GH.png

GH-Test

Gesamthärte-Test für Süßwasseraquarien

Meerwasser_weiß3.png

 

Messbereich & Genauigkeit

Messbereich: 1 - 20 °dH

Auflösung (Genauigkeit): 0,5/1 °dH

 
Über die Gesamthärte

Die Gesamthärte GH bezeichnet die Menge der im Wasser gelösten Magnesium- und Calciumsalze. Ist die Menge dieser Salze gering, spricht man von weichem Wasser, bei größerer Menge von hartem Wasser. Die Angabe erfolgt meist in Grad deutscher Härte (°dH), wobei 1 °dH mit 10 mg pro Liter gelöstem Calciumoxid gleichgesetzt wird. Die Konzentration dieser Salze im Wasser beeinflusst die organischen Funktionen der Fische und Pflanzen und sollte daher regelmäßig überprüft werden.

Der optimale Wert für die Gesamthärte hängt von den Fischarten ab. Viele afrikanische (z.B. Aphyosemion) und südostasiatische Arten (z.B. Trichogaster) können hartes Wasser gut vertragen. Südamerikanische Salmler z.B. brauchen dagegen weiches Wasser, um sich wohlzufühlen. Als günstig gilt eine Härte von 3-10 °dH im Süßwasseraquarium. Fragen Sie Ihren Fachhändler nach der richtigen Wasserhärte für Ihre Fische.

 

Packungsinhalt

  • 20 ml Reagenz GH

  • 1 Glasküvette 10 ml

  • 1 Dosierspritze 5 ml

  • 1 Gebrauchsanleitung

28230-GH-Test_web.jpg

 

Gebrauchsanweisung

  1. Die Tropfflasche vor Gebrauch schütteln!

  2. Die Glasküvette mit Leitungswasser und anschließend mehrmals mit Aquarienwasser ausspülen.

  3. Mithilfe der Dosierspritze genau 5 ml Aquarienwasser in die Glasküvette füllen.

  4. Nun tropfenweise GH-Testreagenz zugeben (nach jedem Tropfen die Küvette schütteln), bis die Farbe der Lösung von ROT nach GRÜN umschlägt (dazu Farbfelder auf der Verpackung beachten).

  5. Die Anzahl der Tropfen gibt die Gesamthärte der Lösung in °dH an, also z.B. 8 Tropfen = 8 °dH. Um die Genauigkeit der Messung zu erhöhen, können 10 ml Wasserprobe (statt 5 ml) verwendet werden. In diesem Fall entspricht 1 Tropfen = 0,5 °dH, also z.B. 15 Tropfen = 7,5 °dH.

  6. Nach dem Messvorgang Glasküvette und Spritze gründlich mit Leitungswasser ausspülen.

   Haltbarkeit und Lagerung:

   6 Monate nach Anbruch. Dunkel und kühl lagern.

   Übersicht über unterschiedliche Wasserhärte-Einheiten:

csm_Tabelle_GH-Test_0597747a3f.jpg

 

Maßnahmen bei ungünstigen Werten

Ist der GH-Wert zu hoch, empfehlen wir einen Teilwasserwechsel mit enthärtetem Wasser. Lassen Sie sich dazu auch von Ihrem Zoofachhändler beraten. Bei zu niedriger Wasserhärte empfehlen wir zur Aufhärtung die Zugabe von Tropic Marin® Pro-Discus Mineral.

Häufig gestellte Fragen

Antworten auf häufig gestellte Fragen zu diesem Produkt finden Sie in unserem FAQ-Bereich.

Gebindegrößen

GH-Test                                    Art. Nr.  28230                                                     Nachfüllpackung                    Art. Nr. 28774